AAUW's Named Scholarship

AAUW's Named Scholarship History

Begun in 1932 as an Emergency Loan Fund for college students by the St. Lawrence County Branch of the American Association of University Women, the AAUW Named Scholarship has evolved into an award to a graduating student of SUNY Canton who is planning to continue her education at a four-year institution of higher education. Since 1991 the scholarship has been named in honor of or in memory of a local AAUW member.

In 2000, the AAUW-St. Lawrence County Branch's Named Scholarship became an endowed fund held in trust by the SUNY Canton Foundation.

The AAUW scholarship is a one-time award given out annually to a two year woman graduate of SUNY Canton who is continuing her education in an accredited program. Applicants must have a GPA of at least 2.5 to apply. Preference is given to non-traditional aged women who show leadership and community service potential and are pursuing a degree in one of the STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Math) fields.

Madrid resident receives AAUW Scholarship at county branch’s annual meeting in Canton (June 10, 2016)

Updated: September 28, 2017

AAUW Scholarhsip Winners:

St. Lawrence County Branch Home - Site Map